Looking For The Body

Lollipop, lollipop
A 50s refrain
That’s so out of step
In this driving rain

Little stories as kids
Our sparrow chests and high-pitched strains
There’s blood on the tracks
And fear on the brain

You look back and the note still holds
The song remains the same
And, within, that spectre of doubt
Those cherry embers of pain

Though in getting older
Your mind’s eye looks full
And all the looking back
Well, that loosens its pull

Up ahead. That’s different
Those are strides you can’t skip
And I’m staring at my navel
Beginning to trip

Stand by me
No, I can’t do it alone
I’m just a little toy King
On his broke puppet throne

I’ve tried to be brave, really
Keep my faith in the grail
But I’ve got nothing left
And I’m not writing this tale

There’s someone else holding the pen
They’re shaping my destiny
If we’ll ever meet
Or if in the end it’s just me

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

